Reception Curriculum Information

The seven key areas of learning

Prime Areas

  • communication and language – Listening, Attention and Understanding/Speaking
  • physical development – Gross motor skills and fine motor skills
  • personal, social and emotional development – Self-regulation, managing self and building relationships

Specific Areas

  • literacy – Comprehension, word reading and writing
  • mathematics – Number and numerical patterns
  • understanding the world – Past and present, people, culture and communities, the natural world
  • expressive arts and design – Creating with materials, being imaginative and expressive